july mixtape

as promised, here is your July podcast. this one’s pretty groovy, if I do say so myself. I ended up having to rework the whole thing at the last minute but oh well.

also, the whopping one vote in the poll was for “109,” so it ended up on the mix. thank you, one voter.

download here.

tracklist/commentary after the jump

JULY:

I Wanted Everything – Kurt Vile

Walkabout (ft. Noah Lennox) – Atlas Sound

The Pica Beats Theme – the Pica Beats

Say Please – Monsters of Folk

How Long Do I Have to Wait for You? – Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings

Tell Me, What Will It Be – Javelin

109 – Toro Y Moi

Black Country – Tonstartssbandht

Mickey Mouse – Wavves

I’ll admit that if you even casually follow any decent music blog, you’ve probably got a lot of these songs, but hopefully one or two will be new to you and you can enjoy the mix anyway.

now for my description (worthy of the back of a wine bottle):

we start with Kurt Vile for your daily infusion of psych-folk, then skip to much happier thoughts with the ultra-bloggable “Walkabout,” which I really didn’t want to include but is just too good not to. I am a Panda Bear girl through and through. then the Pica Beats hit you with some sitar and Monsters of Folk are awesome and folksy. then Sharon Jones starts the funk and Javelin slows it back down just in time for some Toro Y Moi. Tonsstartsbandht’s epic “Black Country” and that new Panda Bear-I mean, Wavves demo finishes the whole thing off.

I really really wanted to end with “Terminally Chill” by Neon Indian but for some reason the mp3 was importing into audacity in mono and it sounded horrible. I also had a very nice track by Washed Out (from Columbia like Toro Y Moi) in the mix but once you took the Neon Indian out, it just sounded off. maybe I’ll do a chill/dream/blog-wave mix soon and get it on.

as always, comments are welcome and if you would like to have a song removed, please email me at ksglasscock@yahoo.com.

Leave a Reply

